Black Bean Enchiladas

(Originally from Budgetbytes.com)

I really like Mexican food. I like beans, cheese and rice, so I’m totally good with Mexican food. That being said, I’m not a fan of spicy things.  So I am kinda stuck in the middle. So when I make my own Mexican food, I try to make it a little less spicy. Only sometimes I succeed though. I didn’t necessarily this time.

Sauce

2 Tbsp oil

2 Tbsp flour

2 Tbsp chilli powder

2 Cups water

3 oz Tomato sauce

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp salt

In a medium pan, combine oil, flour and chilli powder. Let it bubble, then add water. Stir it in gradually.  Try to dump in the rest of the ingredients at once and forget one or two, but remember them later. Turn off heat and let it sit.

 

Enchiladas

15 oz black beans

1 Avacado

1 tomato

1-2 green onions

A generous amount of frozen corn kernels

A few sprinkles of garlic powder

A few sprinkles of slat

8 Tortillas

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all the vegetables and beans together with the seasonings. After warming tortilla shells, fill each with a scoop of the mixture. Put in a 8×8 pan, greased. Realize not all of them will fit and freeze the last two out of desire not to waste food. Cover with sauce.  Stick in oven for 25 minutes, or until the pan bubbles on the side away from the door and you have to remove it to check. Eat, maybe top with some cheese.

Leave a Reply

